HHS takes first in Regional Science Olympiad

HHS Wins First in Regional Science Olympiad
Posted on 1800/01/01
science olympiadHobbs High School returned from Saturday’s Regional Science Olympiad competition in Roswell with a championship trophy.
In addition to the first-place showing by Hobbs High School, Houston Middle School and the Freshman School each took fourth-place in their school categories – meaning that all three Hobbs teams will advance to state competition on Feb. 22 in Socorro.
Highland Middle School finished in seventh place while Heizer took 11th place.
The following is a list of top finishers for Hobbs High School:

First-place Winners: Rushi Mankad, Anatomy and Physiology; Chaz Schoonover, Brady Spears, Astronomy; Haley Teague, Crystian Massengill, Boomilever; Rachel Johnson, Mankad, Bungee Drop; Mankad, Breanna Ellison, Designer Genes; Alison Horton, Crystian Massengill, Rachel Johnson, Experimental Design; Johnson, Chris Kramer, Magic Lever.

Second-place Winners: Chris Kramer, Compound Machines; Greg Brooks, Alison Horton, Entomology; Kenneth Hafer, Breanna Ellison, Materials Science; Haley Teague, Mission Possible; Mankad, Kenneth Hafer, Technical Problem Solving.

Third-place Winners: Hafer and Spears, Chemistry Lab; Brooks and Spears, Dynamic Planet; Spears and Ellison, Rocks and Minerals; Schoonover and Teague, Water Quality.

scienceThe following is a list of top finishers for Hobbs Freshman High School:

First-place Winners: Blake Moore & Sagar Patel, Geologic Mapping; Steven Teague and Sam Hafer, Mission Possible

Second-place Winners: Brooke Dunn, Anatomy; Steven Teague and Abigail Woody, Boomilever; Sam Hafer and Amy Vejil, Rocks and Minerals.

Third-place Winners: Hafer, Circuits; Ashton Ebert and Ashley Smouse, Disease Detective; Hafer and Blake Moore, Material Science; Vejil and Brooke Dunn, Scrambler.

The following is a list of top finishers from Houston Middle School:

houstonFirst-place Winners: Morgan Shaw and Shaye Smith, Road Scholar; Tristin Madril and Colby Coleman, Shock Value; Shayne Smith and Jackson Driskill, Sounds of Music.

Second-place Winners: Sarah Driskill and Kunai Mankad, Disease Detectives; Zakaya Benge and Smith, Metric Mastery; Brenden Strickland and Briton Dunn, Rotor Egg Drop

Third-place Winners: Brenden Strickland and Colby Coleman, Helicopters; Caroline Jarrett and Erin Hines, Simple Machines; Smith and Driskill, Solar System

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.